Adding a hotspot

General tech discussion board for Insane Audio's JK1001, FJ1001 and other Android based head units (coming soon)!
Post Reply
Slowpoke2008
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:08 pm

Adding a hotspot

Post by Slowpoke2008 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:44 pm

Is it possible to hook up a mobile hotspot (not my phone) to the head unit? Thinking of trying an Inseego Global Modem USB800 plugged into one of the USB ports so I don't have to have my phone directly connected.

InSaNeAuDiOSupport5
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:59 am

Re: Adding a hotspot

Post by InSaNeAuDiOSupport5 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 10:02 am

Hi Slowpoke2008.

We don’t recommend trying to use a USB modem as that may be tough to configure and get to work. Why not just use a MiFi (personal hotspot) and leave it in the glovebox? That way, you have WiFi for your Insane Audio head unit as well as other devices in the vehicle. There are lots of these available and some carriers (i.e. T-Mobile) even make an OBDII powered hotspot.

Hope this helps!

SherpaJeep
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:21 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Contact:

Re: Adding a hotspot

Post by SherpaJeep » Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:35 am

I've recently seen the OBDII hotspots out there and I like that idea but then I'd lose my OBDII adapter to the app on my JL3001 unless they have some sort of passthrough to add the OBDII bluetooth as well?

But a MiFi in the glovebox using one of the the USB cables to keep it charged, does sound like a good idea! I may have to research that....

InSaNeAuDiOSupport5
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:59 am

Re: Adding a hotspot

Post by InSaNeAuDiOSupport5 » Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:18 pm

SherpaJeep wrote:
Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:35 am
I've recently seen the OBDII hotspots out there and I like that idea but then I'd lose my OBDII adapter to the app on my JL3001 unless they have some sort of passthrough to add the OBDII bluetooth as well?

But a MiFi in the glovebox using one of the the USB cables to keep it charged, does sound like a good idea! I may have to research that....
Yes! We've seen these as well.

In fact, some of our customers are using them and seem to love them! 😊

Just keep in mind that if you want to use these OBDII hotspots and also use the Torque app for live engine data, you'll need to use a OBD Splitter which is available on Amazon. 

Post Reply