JK in a TJ

Questions and answers relating to installation of Insane Audio's JK1001 and JK2001
yellow_dolphin

JK in a TJ

Post by yellow_dolphin » Sat Jan 17, 2015 12:00 pm

Hi Insane Team,

I am new to your forum but not new to Jeeps. While I am not a JK expert nor have a JK, I am interested in the JK Insane radio for its current and future features and capability. My plan is to integrate the JK1001 into one of my Jeeps, specifically a TJUR. I do know you have a TJ version, but not interested in that path.

I understand that the JK1001 is a single Din size on the back. But I do not know if it is a din and half or double din on the front? It does look like a double din and assuming it is, I am willing to modify the center bezel and dash in my TJ. Have you done this and see any major issues?

Regarding the electrical part, I assume that I would have to make a cable harness to adapt from the JK connector to a TJ connector. Here are my questions:

Will the OBD feature work with the TJ?
Steering wheel controls will not work obviously.
Jeep can bus will not work.
Factory subwoofer in the TJ is not a must as long as aftermarket/custom setup works.
What other features do you think will not work?

I look forward to hear from you either through the forum or directly at irvcaba@yahoo.com.

Thanks

InsaneAudioSupport

Re: JK in a TJ

Post by InsaneAudioSupport » Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:50 am

yellow_dolphin wrote:Hi Insane Team,

I am new to your forum but not new to Jeeps. While I am not a JK expert nor have a JK, I am interested in the JK Insane radio for its current and future features and capability. My plan is to integrate the JK1001 into one of my Jeeps, specifically a TJUR. I do know you have a TJ version, but not interested in that path.